Charles and Lydia Stroup came to Ringgold, Texas in 1893. (Their daughter, Gladys, was the first girl to be born in Ringgold.)
Mr. Stroup was a well-known taxidermist and his wife Lydia worked in the shop by his side. Their shop doubled as an oddities museum. The collection included lizards, a monkey, skunks, ferrets, and a two-headed calf just to name a few. People came from all over the country to view the rare and unusual fare offered at the Stroup’s taxidermy shop.
The unique establish succumbed to fire on two occasions, once in 1913 and then again in 1928. Stroup rebuilt both times.
Photos courtesy of Max Brown